Dallas North Tollway (DNT)


The Dallas North Tollway is a quick, safe, convenient connection for motorists between downtown Dallas and cities in Collin, Denton and northern Dallas counties. It is a 32-mile,  limited access expressway passing through and along the cities of Dallas, Highland Park, University Park, Addison, Farmers Branch, Plano and Frisco.

The first section of the Dallas North Tollway from downtown Dallas to I-635 (LBJ Freeway) opened to traffic in June 1968. It was extended to Briargrove Lane in 1987 and to the Sam Rayburn Tollway  in Plano in 1994. A 1.5-mile extension to Gaylord Parkway in Frisco opened in April 2004, and the extension of the Dallas North Tollway from Gaylord Parkway north to U.S. 380 opened to traffic in September 2007.

In 2011, the NTTA opened the Dallas North Tollway/Sam Rayburn Tollway interchange, fully joining the two major roadways and providing motorists with free flowing access. 

The NTTA has continued to extend the original Dallas North Tollway to new destinations as communities to the north have continued to grow. The high growth rate in both Collin and Denton counties, along with input from both counties, encouraged the NTTA to continue the extensions further north. The DNT 4 extension will extend the tollway another 13.7 miles from US 380 to the Collin/Grayson county line.

CPR_DNT4_5_secure_May.pdfDNT Extension Phase 4 -  Fall 2020 CPR​

DNT Improvements -  Fall 2020 CPR


​ ​​​​​