ZipCash

ZipCash:  Drive Now. Pay-By-Mail.

ZipCash offers a pay-by-mail option at higher rates for customers who prefer not to get a TollTag. When a motorist without a TollTag drives through tolling points, high-speed cameras take digital images of the license plate, and the tolls are billed to the registered owner of the vehicle. 

ZipCash rates include a 50 percent  premium to cover processing and administrative costs. ZipCash is just one of two ways to pay for your NTTA toll road use. Drivers can avoid ZipCash’s higher toll rates and potential administrative fees by getting a TollTag.

ZipCash customers receive bills depending on the frequency of their tollway use. After the initial bill, customers with three to 30 transactions will be billed every 30 days; if they exceed 30 transactions, they will be billed immediately. Customers with two or less transactions will be billed on a quarterly basis.

ZipCash tolls are billed following the process outlined in the charts below, as of Oct. 14, 2013 when NTTA moved to a new streamlined fee structure. The new fee structure will be applied to all invoices regardless of issue date.

ZipCash Bill
30 days to pay
Tolls only. No fees.
1st Notice of Nonpayment
30 days to pay
ZipCash tolls
+ $10 administrative fee per notice
2nd Notice of Nonpayment
30 days to pay
ZipCash tolls
+ $10 administrative fee per notice
+ $25 administrative fee per notice
Collection/
3rd Notice of Nonpayment
30 days to pay
All ZipCash tolls and fees listed above
+ $29 collection service fee
Legal Action
All ZipCash tolls and fees listed above 
+ any court costs and fines as provided by law


ZipCash invoices can be paid online, by mail, phone, or in person with the NTTA Customer Service Center, or at a participating ACE Cash Express location or at Regional TollTag Partner locations.

Repeated failure to pay ZipCash bills can cause a driver being listed as a Habitual Violator, resulting in toll enforcements that include fees and fines, blocked vehicle registration, vehicle ban from NTTA toll roads (fine up to $500), and/or vehicle impoundment.

Texas law requires that bills be mailed to the registered owner of the vehicle; all motorists are responsible for updating their vehicle registration information with the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles.