

Media Contact: Michael Rey 214-224-2237 mrey@ntta.org

NTTA BOARD TO ADD TWO NEW APPOINTEES

Dallas, Denton County Commissioners Select New Board Members

PLANO, Texas – Jan. 8, 2019 – Marcus Knight and Pete Kamp are joining the North Texas Tollway Authority (NTTA) Board of Directors as Dallas and Denton County appointees, respectively.

Knight was appointed by the Dallas County Commissioners Court. He will succeed Carl Sherman, who stepped down after he won election to Texas House of Representatives, District 109.

Kamp was appointed by the Denton County Commissioners Court. She will succeed Michael Nowels, who served on the NTTA Board since 2007.

"Both appointees have extensive public service backgrounds, and their knowledge of transportation issues will be very valuable as we work to meet the demands of the region's explosive growth," said NTTA Board Chairman Kenneth Barr.



Knight served as the first African-American mayor of Lancaster from 2008-18. He has served on the Lancaster Economic Development Corporation Board, the Lancaster Planning and Zoning Commission and the Lancaster Chamber of Commerce Board. Knight was a past-president of the Metroplex Mayors Association and a North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) executive board member. He is president and chief operating officer for Knight Waste Services, Ltd.



Kamp was a member of the Denton City Council for 11 years, serving as mayor pro tem for eight years and as chair of the mobility committee. She served on the NCTCOG Regional Transportation Council for 10 years, rising to the position of chair. She also served on the North America Super Corridor Coalition and the Dallas Regional Mobility Coalition. She is a partner in Premier Sales Group Inc. and a partner in 3GT Holdings.

For more information about other members of the NTTA Board of Directors, visit NTTA.org.

About the NTTA

<u>The North Texas Tollway Authority</u>, a political subdivision of the state of Texas, is authorized to acquire, construct, maintain, repair and operate turnpike projects across the North Texas region. The <u>Board</u> is comprised of Chairman Kenneth Barr; Vice Chairman Bill Moore; and Directors Lynn Gravley, Mojy Haddad, John Mahalik, George "Tex" Quesada and Jane Willard.

NTTA serves Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, and Tarrant counties and owns and operates the Dallas North Tollway, President George Bush Turnpike, Sam Rayburn Tollway, Addison Airport Toll Tunnel, Lewisville Lake Toll Bridge, Mountain Creek Lake Bridge, Chisholm Trail Parkway and the 360 Tollway. NTTA raises capital for construction projects through the issuance of turnpike revenue bonds. NTTA toll projects are not a part of the state highway system and receive no direct tax funding. Tolls are collected to repay debt and to operate and maintain the roadways.